Site update in progress, some temporary inaccuracies or inconsistencies are possible - thank you for your patience!

 

Welcome to the official internet site of Château de Détilly, our home.

Château de Détilly was built between 1590 and 1610, with some older buildings still in the grounds, such as the 13th C. Romanesque chapel.

It is situated in what used to be known as “The Garden of France”, 7 km from Chinon, between the Loire and Vienne rivers, around 5 km from where they meet, and is set in a completely secluded 2.6 hectare (6.4 acre) park with giant trees, formal French/Italian gardens, an orangerie, a large swimming-pool, a tennis court, a pond and many other features.

No sooner have the entrance gates closed behind you than you find yourself in a haven of beauty and peace – our obvious motto is drawn from Baudelaire’s poem L’invitation au voyage : « Luxe, calme et volupté ».

For us Château de Détilly was love at first sight, and it has been our home since July 2020.

During the warmer months we share our hideaway and welcome guests to stay in our four spacious bed & breakfast rooms occupying the first floor of the main building, or in the self-contained coach-house with its private garden next to the orangerie and swimming-pool.

Please browse through this site and contact us if you wish to be among our first guests. We would love to have you stay!

Pierre and Grahame

 

About the Château        About the Rooms         About the Coach-house

Site en cours de mise à jour, des inexactitudes ou incohérences temporaires sont possibles - merci pour votre patience !

 

Bienvenue sur le site officiel du Château de Détilly, notre demeure.

Le Château de Détilly fut construit entre 1590 et 1610, avec quelques bâtiments plus anciens encore dans la propriété, telle la chapelle romane du 13ème siècle.

Il est situé dans ce qu’on appelait autrefois « Le Jardin de la France », à 7 km de Chinon, entre la Loire et la Vienne, à environ 5 km de leur confluent, au cœur d’un parc de 2,6 hectares complètement coupé du monde, avec ses arbres géants, ses jardins à la française / à l’italienne, une orangerie, une grande piscine, un court de tennis et bien d’autres choses encore.

Sitôt le portail d’entrée refermé derrière vous, vous vous trouverez dans une havre de beauté et de paix – notre devise évidente provient du poème de Baudelaire « L’invitation au voyage » : « Luxe, calme et volupté ».

Nous avons eu un coup de foudre immédiat pour le Château de Détilly, dont nous avons fait notre demeure en juillet 2020.

Durant les mois estivaux, nous partageons notre refuge et accueillons des hôtes dans nos quatre spacieuses chambres d’hôtes qui occupent tout le premier étage du bâtiment principal, ou dans la maison d’amis indépendante avec son jardin privé, à côté de l’orangerie et de la piscine.

Nous vous invitons à parcourir notre site et à nous contacter si vous souhaitez faire partie de nos hôtes. Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir !

Pierre and Grahame

 

    Le château                     Les chambres d’hôtes                    La maison d’amis